Custom Pet Portrait Necklaces

IMG_4385

(This is a picture-heavy post, sorry!)

As I mentioned in my last post, over Christmas I received a few orders for my custom pet portrait necklace. These involve the customer sending me a few pictures of their pet (or a friend’s/family member’s/etc pet), which I then use as references to embroider a little portrait of said pet, which in turn gets made into a pendant necklace!

It’s an item I absolutely love doing for a number of reasons: One, because I love  animals (of course); two, because I really love embroidering animals in this style, which is very similar to needle painting, which is a blend of long and short stitch in various colours to create semi-realistic embroideries; and three, because I know how much people love their pets and I feel like this is such a cute, unique present to give to someone so that they can show off their love for their furry little friend!

The first gift order I received this Christmas was perhaps the most unique of all. When I made this listing, I had only done cats and dogs and although I never specify any particular kind of animal, I suppose I’d only ever thought I’d get requests for cats and dogs. But I was surprised when this order came in and the customer had asked me to embroider their little pet kangaroo!

I was more than happy to oblige (actually very excited), though, and the kangaroo was so adorable!

IMG_4318

IMG_4315

The rest of the requests over Christmas were pups, but each a very different breed, and therefore they had their own individual look and feel. I was super happy with how they came out and I hope the recipients agreed!

IMG_4398

IMG_4392

IMG_4387

IMG_4378

Each time I do a new little portrait I learn a little more about this style of embroidery and I can’t wait to do many more and get better and better. You can find the listing to order one for yourself or a loved one in my Etsy shop here!

Leave a comment